Report on "Two-Day National Conference on Drug Safety" (Novel Opportunities for Newer Generations)

Chebrolu Hanumaiah Institute of Pharmaceutical Sciences has organized a two-day National conference on "Drug Safety" from 30th January to 31st January 2020. This Conference was held with the aim to enhance patient care and patient safety in relation to the use of medicines and to support public health programmes by providing reliable, balanced information for the effective assessment of the risk-benefit profile of medicines. This conference was organized in association with Karnataka State Registered Pharmacist Association (R), Indian Pharmaceutical Association, A.P State Branch and Indian Pharmaceutical Association, Education Division. About 350 students and faculty from 15 Pharm. D course offering institutions have attended this conference.

Dr. R. Srinivas (President, NES & CHIPS) has welcomed all the guests and delegates and bestowed his wishes. The organizing secretary Dr. S. Vidyadhara (Principal, CHIPS) explained the strongest context of organizing this conference. He has also introduced all the eminent resource persons from different territories of PV in India to the delegates. Dr. Rao Vadlamudi (President, Commonwealth Pharmacists Association) attended as chief guest and addressed the gathering on the need of conducting this conference. A key note address was delivered by Mrs. Indu Nambiar (Head, Pharmacovigilance, Boehringer Ingelheim, Mumbai) focusing on the career opportunities for Pharm. D students in Pharmaceutical Industries. Mr. Kaushik Devaraju has addressed the delegates by mentioning the importance of health care professionals in the PV system, and importance of collaboration in order to meet the future challenges in pharmacovigilance and to continue its development. It was followed by talk from Dr. Mangala Charana Das (Professor & HoD, Dept. Pharmacology, NRI Medical College and Hospital, Guntur) on the need for carrying the Pharmacovigilance activities.

The conference was divided into 3 plenary sessions with two talks in each session. Eminent resource persons delivered their talks. In Plenary Session – I, Ms. Ismeet Kaur (Technical Associate, World Health Organisation, Country Office for India, New Delhi) delivered on Pharmacovigilance in Public Health Programmes and Dr. Dipika Bansal (Assistant Professor, Dept. Pharmacy Practice, NIPER, New Delhi) presented on different Pharmacovigilance Methods. In Plenary Session – II, Dr. Mohammed Sibgatullah (Associate Director, Vigi Medsafe Pvt Ltd, Hyderabad, Telangana) gave a talk on the Importance of Labelling of Pharmaceutical products and Mrs. Shilpa Palaksha (Assistant Professor, JSS College of Pharmacy, Mysore, Karnataka) delivered on Medication Errors and Its Importance. In Plenary Session – III, Dr. Meena Kumari (Co-ordinator, ADR Monitoring Center, Guntur Govt. Hospital, Guntur) delivered on An Overview of Pharmacovigilance Programme of India and Dr. R. Rama Krishna (Professor & HOD, Department of Pulmonology, NRI Medical College and Hospital, Guntur) delivered on Safety aspects of Antitubercular Therapy.

As a part of this conference, three competitions were conducted (Pharmacovigilance Quiz, Case Presentations and Patient Counseling) for the student delegates and the best performers were given with cash prize worth Rs 20,000/- along with certificates and mementos.

Dr. C. N. Srinivas (Secretary and Correspondent, CHIPS) thanked all the invitees and participants for making the programme a success. The valedictory function was graced by chief guest Dr. SK. Mastan Saheb (Medical Superintendent, NRI Medical College and Hospital, Guntur) and has shared his experiences and provided his valuable insights to all the delegates. The guest of honor Dr. Adepu Ramesh (Principal, Vikas Institute of Pharmaceutical Sciences, Suryapet, Telangana) has addressed the gathering with his enriched knowledge in the field of clinical pharmacy. The conference was concluded by closing remarks proposed by Dr. R. Hari Babu (HoD Dept. Pharmacy Practice, CHIPS) and Vote of thanks by Dr. A. Pramod Kumar (Associate Professor, Dept. Pharmacy Practice, CHIPS)

Dr. S. Vidyadhara Principal and Conference Chairman







